Persevering through your perseverance.


 May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light.Colossians 1:11-12

Jesus has qualified me…to share in his inheritance.

Wow.

During my struggles in painting I often think of all the people who I am trying to please. I think of what galleries would accept this artwork. I think about what grade my teachers are going to give me. And hey, I even think of what comment my brother would write on my picture when I post it to Facebook. But why? Why do we as artists continue to STRIVE for the acceptance of others. Yes, I understand there is a fine line between pleasing the audience and pleasing yourself with your artwork. Because when you please the audience, they hopefully buy your artwork…But there has to be a point along that never-ending line that allows us-the artists to just ENJOY what is being created. Just like God enjoys His creation…us. My new goal is to try to glorify God with every stroke of paint I lay upon the coarse canvas threads. Every splash of paint should constantly remind me of this gift that God has given me. He has allowed me to see his creation through a different set of eyes. I have the gift of recreating his creation in oils and watercolors. Repainting his glorious sunsets to capture that moment in time for everyone to see…over and over again. I hope to use these skills to spread his wonder and love throughout the world. In “colorinG the wOrld he createD.”

“Do not neglect the gift that is in you, which was given to you by prophecy with the laying on of the hands of the eldership.”
1 Timothy 4:14

As an artist my connection to God is through my creations. Maybe I am strangely fascinated with landscape paintings because I am in awe of every little brush stroke the artist puts on the canvas, to create a whole field of grass……………. Or maybe I am so fascinated with landscapes because I enjoy the thought that maybe, just maybe, God kinda felt the same way I do when I am painting; as when He created the earth….

Did he choose exactly how much light to shine through the branches of the great oak trees at 4pm? Did he measure exactly how high the waves were going to rise before they crashed upon the sandy shore? It is such a magnificent amount of detail that goes into planning out a painting that I cannot even fathom what it must have felt like for God to create a world so beautiful and precise in the way it works.

It takes me 6 months to complete an 8″x10″ landscape painting yet it took God 6 days to create Earth.

Amazing.

“Therefore I remind you to stir up the gift of God which is in you through the laying on of my hands.”
2 Timothy 1:6

AWalker

This entry was published on April 12, 2012 at 6:17 pm. It’s filed under Art, oils, painting, Thoughts On God and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Persevering through your perseverance.

  1. I love this. The last paragraph is so true! ALL the little details God had to think about when he was carefully putting our world together. Great post.

Leave some inspiration

