My Statement as an Artist


Amy Walker

Fine Art and Murals

The greatest place in the world is being in my studio, with the sun streaming in through the windows, music blaring on my computer, and a palette of paints at my side. As I mix these vibrant colors, my heart rate starts to rise and sudden anxiety begins to bubble up inside me. I briefly look at the blank white canvas then slowly draw my paintbrush across the coarse fibers and watch as the oil begins to tell its story. Every stroke is a piece of my imagination, a sample of the emotions inside me, for the entire world to see. Painting is such a personal experience. Each joy and struggle in my life is translated into an adventure on the canvas. During the process I unleash my soul and let it write the story for me. My goal for the finish is for my audience to not just see my creation, but to feel it. I want my audience to be snatched into my world and spun around in the paint as if they were on the canvas themselves.

As a fine artist I have the luxury of painting on whatever surface I desire.  Whether canvas, wood, or metal I can create art intertwined with the material I am painting on. In mural painting I have the freedom to create a photorealistic illusion of an Italian villa on the wall of a bedroom, or a mystical jungle of unicorns and elves. My imagination is endless. With that, and my talent in drawing assorted subject matter, allows me to bring my clients imagination to life as well. My medium varies from oil paints, to acrylics, and is not limited to two-dimensional textures.

My recent works have been experimental paintings of landscapes mixed with vibrant colors. I enjoy a high attention to detail; painting textures that many think can only be achieved by photography. The ability to apply paint to a surface and create an illusion of reality intrigues me. In my series of paintings where paint was first dripped down the canvas I wanted to create a movement within the canvas itself, and then on top I painted my landscapes. The entire surface does not need to be tightly rendered in order to draw in the eyes of your audience. I enjoy a painting full of color and detail that has moments of stillness for my brain to rest within the picture. Art is an experience and a journey. To me, no matter how fast or slow it is created, a painting has a story, and it is just dying for you to know what that story is.

…I think I have just recently realized what I like to paint. It is a constant struggle as an artist to paint what you enjoy, vs painting what the world wants to see. I feel it is important to keep up with current “art talk” and what is going on in the world of art, because that is the only way to hear about what is new and upcoming… Aside from commission-based work…people want new art. They don’t want remakes of the masters. Our audience these days that actually want photo realistic paintings is a very small group of people. So, now my biggest challenge over the next few months is to do what I want to do most….  paint….but also get my name out there and network, and show people that I am new, I am creative, and I am a painter that can shed a whole new light on the world of art.

~AWalker~

This entry was published on November 10, 2011 at 4:03 pm. It’s filed under Art, Blogging 101, oils, painting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “My Statement as an Artist

  1. I am a web designer and unfortunately have to design what the client wants most of the time. However, I do get to have a substantial bit of say so it keeps me satisfied. Your right though… It’s important to draw what you love. Otherwise you will never be satisfied. No?

    – Eric

Leave some inspiration

